FAQs On Drunk Driving Charges

Like any criminal charge, a drunk driving arrest can have serious consequences. You may lose your license, face jail time and pay steep fines. If arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), it's crucial to contact a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney. Weinstock & Associates of Atlantic City, New Jersey, can assist. We're a detail-oriented and aggressive law firm led by attorney Ed Weinstock. To help you understand drunk driving charges, we have assembled a list of frequently asked questions.

  • Why was I arrested on suspicion of DWI?
    • In New Jersey as well as throughout the country, you will be cited for drunk driving if you were operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least .08 percent. A person is legally drunk with this BAC level.
  • What if I refuse to take a Breathalyzer test?
    • In New Jersey, it's against the law to avoid taking a breath test. Refusing to submit to a breath test may lead to the suspension of your license and steep fines.
  • Why do I need a criminal defense attorney?
    • An experienced criminal defense attorney will guide you through the legal process. Don't try to fight this charge by yourself because the stakes are high. An attorney will provide a clear idea of what's at stake and can explain the legal situation and potential outcomes. When you retain an attorney, you have a better chance of getting a DWI charge reduced through a plea bargain agreement or dismissed.
  • What are the consequences of a drunk driving conviction?
    • There are many. First, you could face time in jail or prison, steep fines and having your driver's license suspended or revoked. A drunk driving conviction can also affect other aspects of your life. It can lead to legal, financial, personal and professional consequences that may last for years.
  • What are some other consequences?
    • Your insurance company now considers you a high-risk driver. The result: Your car insurance rates may double or triple for several years. You also may lose your job. Some employers frown on drunk driving convictions and may request that you enter an alcohol rehabilitation program to keep your job.
  • I need my car to commute to work. How can I continue to drive if I have my license revoked or suspended?
    • The solution may be installing an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. Before you start your vehicle, you must blow into the device. If the device detects alcohol, the vehicle won't start. And don't try to fool authorities by having someone else breathe into the device. In many cases, a camera also is installed in your vehicle.
  • What should I do if my underage son or daughter is arrested on suspicion of drunk driving?
    • You need to call an attorney. Like many states, New Jersey has a "zero tolerance" policy for people under 21 who drink and drive. An underage person caught with a blood alcohol content of .01 percent faces a drunk driving charge. A big reason for this is that motor vehicle accidents account for roughly one-third of all deaths of 15- to 20-year-olds. And of those deaths, about 35 percent are alcohol-related.

Don't Fight A DWI Charge Alone; Contact Us

Many prospective clients have questions about drunk driving charges. We can provide answers for you as well as solid legal representation. Weinstock & Associates in Atlantic City, New Jersey, can offer the legal guidance you need. For a free consultation, contact a lawyer at 609-277-3639.